ABCs, Part 3…last one, I promise :)

R is for random fact about me:  Um…this one is hard to narrow down…so I will give you random fact(s):

  1. My eyesight is awful and falls in the 2nd standard deviation a bell curve of “normal people”
  2. I have movie narcolepsy.  True story.  I call asleep within the first 10-20 minutes of movies.  Every time.
  3. I wake up at 4:30am 4-5 days a week to squeeze in a workout…crazy, I know.
  4. My ears turn red (almost purple) when I’m really mad.  It’s really attractive

S is for favorite healthy snack:  I have to choose only ONE?!  Well, savory snacks include: peanut butter, almonds (roasted, raw, or flavor-roasted), or white cheddar rice cakes.  Sweet snacks include: homemade granola (awesome recipes here), grapes, apples, or bananas.  Yum!

T is for favorite treat:  Dark chocolate…no wait…ice cream!…no wait…I’m sorry, but I just can’t choose between the two.  And you shouldn’t make me!

U is for something that makes me unique:  I may need my friends to help me out here…I have some mad Facebook creeping skills…I can’t share the skills or how I do it…that’s how good I am.  Creepy, I know.

V is for favorite vegetable: I really don’t think I can choose my favorite veggie…On a daily basis I eat the following: spinach (2-3 times), carrots, broccoli, celery, and cucumbers.  I love them all for the many different ways they can be prepared…but there’s nothing better than roasted carrots.  Carrots win.

W is for today’s workout:  A 1-hr “circuit” bike ride which left me crazy sweaty!  After that I did some mountain climbers, planks-galore!, and other core exercises.  Next week I’ll start 5K training and circuit training to increase my race speeds!  So excited!

X is for x-rays you’ve had:  Oh my goodness…SO many…I’m embarrassed to include them all.  But here are the body parts that have been x-rayed & MRI’ed:  Wrist, middle finger (that ended up broken…HA!), thumb (also broken…thank you, Rome!), spine/lumbar, spine/neck (fractured C7), hands (for arthritis…yay getting old), knee, feet (stress fracture and 2 surgeries to correct formality issues).  My poor body just can’t handle my life.

Y is for yesterday’s highlight:  Coming HOME!! And sitting in to hear two fabulous colleagues’ presentation about implementing a service-leadership model.  It really left me recharged and re-motivated to keep going!  Conferences always do that to me – they remind me why I do what I do.

Z is for time zone:  GMT minus 5 hours.  I had a “big dummy” moment during my drive to Louisville last Saturday and realized they were 1 hour ahead, which I OBVIOUSLY hadn’t factored into my departure/arrival time.  Since I HAD to be there by 5pm (Louisville time), I left at 12pm (St. Louis time) to give me plenty of time before my awards ceremony.  Fail.  I arrived 15 minutes late.  Fortunately, everyone was busy mingling and I was technically “on time” when the event started.  WHEW!

 

 

Leave a comment