Flare Culprits…

Oh dear…my apologize for going a whole MONTH without an update.  You can really tell when work grabs me by the ankles, turns me upside down, and shakes me until I can’t see straight.

So here’s a month of updates; some good, some bad.

About 1 week after traveling to DC, my body started to recover from “travel food” and my weight returned to pre-inflammation weight and the bloating was mostly no where to be found.

I discovered a coffee I can have in absolute moderation that doesn’t make me feel awful & bloated all day: Trader Joe’s Cold Brew Coffee Concentrate. I’m sure there’s really nothing special about this coffee except for how I prepare it (and dilute it, BIG time) but it works and I’m enjoying about 2-3 cups a week.

I’m still avoiding gluten, dairy, most processed food (gluten/dairy free bread & cereal have been my weakness lately), eggs, corn (where possible), nuts, seeds, onions, nightshades…

I’ve had to moderate peanut butter & almond butter.  I can tolerate it in small doses.  I love it too much to stop eating it unless my new doctor and the blood test tells me I HAVE to.

How have I been feeling lately?  Great! Until last week.  I might have forgotten I had UC and ordered Pad Thai from our favorite restaurant. Pad Thai is normally not an issue for me (and it’s gluten free!) but I even ate the peanuts. Ouch.

That same day, thinking I could eat blended veggies with no problem, I also tried a green smoothie (cucumber, celery, kale, spinach, apple, & lemon).  However, I didn’t get the smoothie *smooth* enough.  I’ve also been reading that I should have started smaller and only had a small portion of the smoothie since it can pack a punch…right to the intestines. A few weeks prior I also sampled with blending some strawberries & raspberries in a smoothie (thinking the seeds would be pulverized…not so).

I’ve also been working out A LOT more and can tell my weight’s gone up from exercise-induced inflammation. Work-related stress has also tripled in the last month.

So those are the culprits to my current flare. I have a steroid pack my gastro gave me in the spring to use if things got bad…but I’m still trying to work through this one on my own by eliminating those culprits or figuring out how to work around them.

It’s a constant game of “wait & see”. Trying to stay positive though – only 2 more weeks until my appointment with my naturopath.  Hoping she will get me back on track!

Leave a Reply

