ABCs, Part 2

I is for something important:  Currently working on taking time for myself.  My new mantra/favorite quote:  “You have to decide what your priorities are and have the courage – pleasantly, smilingly, non-apologetically – to say no to the other things.  And the way to do that is to have a bigger ‘yes’ inside.” (Stephen Covey)

J is for favorite jam – Sugar free black raspberry…oh…not that kind of jam…right…

K is for kids – Undecided.  I like my friends’ kids, don’t like strangers’ kids (not ALL of them, though).  Not sure if I want my own or if it’s even my purpose in life.  For now, my race bibs/medals are my children.  And I’d say it’s fair enough to call them that!

L is for current location:  Edwardsville, IL, aka “home”.  My conference roomie (friend/colleague) were commenting last night that we felt like we’d been gone for about a month.  Granted, we’d both had service/leadership trips to New Orleans this month…but I am home indefinitely and I couldn’t be happier.

M is for recent way you’ve spent money:  On groceries…nearly $50 for veggies, fruit, whole wheat bread, Greek yogurt, salmon in a bag (sounds appetizing, eh?), salad dressing, and a doggie toy.  Sheesh.  Future plans for my money? A road bike. So I can start training for Duathlons NOT on a Huffy mountain bike…HA!

N is for something you need:  More time in my day…more materialistically? Hmm…More running clothes.  Yes, definitely a “need” 🙂

O is for occupation:  Student affairs professional.  Look it up.  I’m sure only 2% of America knows what this is/does…and that 2% are those that work in the field.  I love it, but it makes me so tired.

P is for pet peeve: Ignorance, rude people, selfish people, drunk people, inconsiderate people, and close-minded people.  And crowds.  Is anyone else seeing a pattern here…?  Maybe my pet peeve is just “people” in general.  Oh dear…Ok, on a more positive spin, I can’t stand when people don’t pull seals off of food containers all the way, like peanut butter jars.  GAH!

Q is for quote:  These two guide me everyday when I begin to question why I do things:  “Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved. (Helen Keller)” and:

“Nothing is more practical than finding God,
that is, than falling in love
in a quite absolute, final way.
What you are in love with,
what seizes your imagination,
will affect everything.
It will decide what will get you
out of bed in the morning,
what you will do with your evenings,
how you spend your weekends,
what you read, who you know,
what breaks your heart,
and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.
Fall in love; stay in love,
and it will decide everything.” – Fr. Pedro Arrupe, SJ

I love the second quote especially because it’s NOT about “looooove”, but about loving what you do and loving what you STAND for.  It DOES and WILL affect everything.  Choose wisely and stick to your guns.

R – Z for tomorrow…stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

