Elimination Diet: Days 1 – 3

Ah, Days 1, 2, & 3.  The worst days of any new routine, diet, job, etc.

As I’m adjusting to my new diet, I’ll admit the first few days were pretty rough.  It didn’t help that the 3 days leading up to this diet were major cheat days for me so I was feeling extra crummy after binging on foods I knew I wouldn’t get to eat for a few months AND foods I knew would cause problems (salsa, peppers, restaurant food, wine, toasted ravioli [beef, cheese, deep fried], etc.).  I’m still really struggling without my afternoon protein snack (hard boiled egg or almond butter)

Day 1: Starving, starving, starving all day. Even when I knew I’d hit my calorie allotment (or even exceeded it). While I normally eat a fair amount of protein with the help of eggs & nut butters (not allowed on this diet), you can only get so full on chicken and avocado.  And I can only eat so much chicken in one day.
Day 1’s menu consisted of apple cinnamon rice pancakes , chicken, rice, avocado, mango, bananas, rice cakes, & rice crackers. I blame my food choices the days leading up to this day and was also very sleepy (sleepiness makes me have ridiculous cravings).

Day 2: For some reason, even my normal protein shake (brown rice protein powder, banana, unsweetened coconut, aloe vera juice, coconut milk) didn’t do much to fill me up. My department had a lunch/retreat that afternoon so I was THAT PERSON who brought her own food (chicken, rice, avocado, lettuce, spinach, & cantaloupe).  Eh well, I’m pretty used to that by now!  Dinner also consisted of chicken, rice, & avocado with cantaloupe & watermelon for dessert.  I was left pretty unsatisfied all day.

Day 3: After 2 days of hanger, I spent all day longing for my next meal or snack. Today was a little better on the hunger front but a morning run helped to keep some cravings at bay (seriously, yay running!). Breakfast & lunch were the same as Day 2 but supper was da’ bomb!  I knew I needed something a little more filling so I scarfed down the sweet potato hash & coconut rice pancakes I’d prepared a week earlier to freeze.   I had the watermelon & cantaloupe for dessert again and was still a little hungry when I went to bed but felt a bit more in control of my appetite than the day before.

Just a note about the 3 recipes above:
The apple cinnamon pancakes call for oats which are currently eliminated from my diet (and were before this process started) so I removed them from the recipe and the results turned out fine. I think the oats might hold the pancakes together a little better so I had to cook them a little longer. Everything else stayed the same (I used all purpose GF flour…make sure it consists of only the flour-types you can have!).  I also top these with apple butter but I’m looking forward to trying these with peanut butter.

The sweet potato hash calls for onions, turkey sausage, and lard. All of these items are removed from my diet because of the elimination diet or because I’ve chosen to eliminate then.  It tastes fine without the onions and lard (I used olive oil instead).  I used very lean ground turkey in place of the sausage and seasoned with a bit of salt & pepper to create the sweet & salty combination.  It’s VERY filling!

For the coconut rice pancakes, I only used rice flour mainly because I couldn’t find sorghum flour. I made one batch with nutmeg & ginger and HATED it (I’m not a fan of nutmeg). The second batch was made with just a pinch of nutmeg & ginger.  These are very dense & filling.  I topped them with apple butter and it was a great combination.

 

Leave a Reply

