Elimination Diet

Oh you know, a diet where you eliminate even more foods from your already eliminated diet…? 🙂  True story. This 2-3 week diet will eliminate nearly all foods that cause inflammation.  The goal is to heal my intestines and reduce inflammation.  After the 2-3 weeks, I introduce 1 eliminated food item every other day to track any reactions or discomfort.  The whole process will take 6-8 weeks.  So no, I won’t get to go out and splurge on burgers & fries when this is over. Instead of typing a list of what I CAN’T eat during this phase, you get to see what I GET to eat.  Positive psychology…see what I did there?

Vegetables (except night shades & veggies I’ve already eliminated like broccoli, cauliflower, raw carrots, etc.)

Fruit (except citrus & seedy fruits like strawberries, blueberries, & blackberries)

Rice…lots & lots of rice.  Rice cakes, rice cereal, rice pancakes, etc.

Chicken & turkey (only organic…you know, the expensive kind)

Avocado (technically a fruit, but a nutrition powerhouse that deserves its own category)

Sweet potatoes (wonderfully NOT a night shade like its other potato cousins)

Non-dairy milk (only rice or coconut)

Agave nectar, molasses, or liquid stevia (if ABSOLUTELY necessary…according to my guide)

Herbal tea

And that’s it, folks.  No gluten, no wheat, no sugar, no eggs (why are eggs always considered dairy?! Rude.), no preservatives, no caffeine (um…this is not ok), no alcohol, no dairy (nothing new here), no preservatives, no pork, no beef, no beans or legumes, no nuts, and the saddest part: no almond butter.

I’ll admit, lunch & supper won’t be that much different for me.  Breakfast (specifically weekend breakfasts) will be a little tough.

Wish me luck.  This adventure starts Sunday, June 8th.  Why then, you ask?  My high school reunion is Saturday, June 7th and I’d like to indulge in a few glasses of wine to encourage conversation and lessen awkward moments, if possible.

If anyone out there has some decent elimination diet recipes, send them my way!  This weekend I am attempting homemade sugar-free apple butter and rice pancakes to allow for SOME indulgence during these weeks.

I think I should buy stock in avocados…

Leave a Reply

