Latest Obsessions

My latest obsessions are a bit random and may even seem a bit “controversy theory” to some…Being as “clean” as possible.  No, not washing my hands 20x per day “clean”, but free of chemicals in my food and daily hygiene products “clean”.  I’ve talked before about striving for a clean diet each day.  This is a challenge because it seems as though EVERYTHING is processed and has ingredients I can’t pronounce.  For the most part, my daily diet is 75-85% clean.  The hardest part is supper – cooking with/planning a meal with someone that doesn’t eat clean but has similar health & fitness goals, especially when we’re too tired (or lacking enough creativity) to eat at home.  Even then, I try to eat items at our normal “healthier” places that I can “disassemble” so that the items (like salad dressing) that aren’t clean can be quantity-controlled by yours truly.

I have failed miserably at cleaning up my hygiene products.  I’ve been reading Slow Death by Rubber Duck:

I caught a special on Dateline NBC that talked about chemicals and “bad things” found in our everyday items: plastic utensils, tupperware, body wash, antibacterial hand soap, shampoo, toothpaste, etc.  Mind blown.  Last year I switched my travel coffee mug to a ceramic mug and started taking my lunch in small Pyrex containers so I wouldn’t microwave in plastic tupperware.  But this is a whole new level…try finding soap that doesn’t have the words “Parfum” or “Fragrance” listed in the ingredients…even Dove Sensitive Skin which is supposedly free of dyes and fragrances contains “Fragrance” (translated: Parfum or Fragrance are psuedonyms for pthalates, which have been scientifically linked to cancer over time).  Darn near impossible. Next time I’m at Trader Joe’s I plan to peruse the hygiene aisle…although I don’t want to smell like a hippie either.  Argh…

Scout finds it to be a dull read...

Scout finds it to be a dull read…

Other obsessions are food related:

KIND Bars, specifically the lower sugar options. They’re gluten-free, dairy-free, and all-natural.  YAY for clean!

Cascadian Farms Organic Fruitful O’s cereal.  Seriously, it tastes like healthy Fruit Loops.  And only has 7 grams of sugar in 1 serving.

SO Delicious Coconut Milk Ice “Cream”.  My life can be happy again.  The 2 things I’ve missed the most since going dairy free: yogurt & ice cream.  I’ve tried several almond milk and coconut milk brand ice creams in the last few months and have to limit myself to just a few bites because the fat & sugar content is much higher than I’d like for a daily treat.  FINALLY, my fancier grocery store started carrying 2 whole freezer sections of this brand AND there’s a “no sugar added” option.  Fabulous!  My favorite flavors: chocolate and mint chip, of course!

No Sugar Added Mint Chip

No Sugar Added Chocolate

 

Leave a Reply

