Why Running Doesn’t Suck

I found this gem on Facebook, thanks to Distant Runners!

How great is this?  These kinds of lists are all great, because everyone relates to at least ONE item.  For me? Numbers 2, 4, 5, 6, and 9.

#2:  It’s the time in my day when I shamelessly blast Hanson, Nsync, Backstreet Boys, One Direction, etc. and find a way to dance while running.  BTW, I’m still trying to figure out how to do the “Bye, Bye, Bye” moves during a run.  One day!

#4:  Confession: I’d wear my compression capris every day even if I didn’t run or do any physical activity.  Shower, scrunch hair, compression capris, done.  No make-up, no hair dryer.  I don’t know how I haven’t terrified small children every weekend…I sadly whine a little if we make plans for dinner that requires me to wear jeans.

#5:  Not gonna lie, I feel like a total badass when I’m extra sweaty after a good run.  I mean really, it screams “I’m tough, don’t mess with me!” One time during my “I’m crazy and like doing long runs in 20-degree weather” phase, I had a seriously snotty nose and the sniffling wasn’t cutting the mustard.  I managed to leave the tissues at home so I blew a full nose of snot into my gloved hands and wiped it on my leg.  Yeah…hottie.

#6: This one is cheating…I’m a light-weight even if I don’t workout that day…but catch me on a long workout day and I’m the cheapest date you’ll find in the St. Louis area.

#9: This one blows my mind.  Before the RnR Marathon in October, I went through a period of mental & physical exhaustion.  I just couldn’t get myself out of bed in the morning.  I’d force myself to at least 2-3 easy workouts a week, considerably less than what I had been completing.  One day, after several consecutive days of not working out, I realized, “This is what it feels like for normal people…”  And I didn’t like the feeling one little bit.  To NOT wake up and workout, going through my day knowing I didn’t physically (and mentally)  better myself?  No thanks.  It’s become so routine for me that NOT running or working out is more unpleasant than being an average human being.

On that note…I’m taking an unscheduled “off day” tomorrow.  I’m going with my gut here, which ya’ll know is something I struggle, struggle, struggle with.  I pushed myself harder than necessary during Sunday’s long run and I just don’t feel as “recovered” as I should after 24 hours of rest.  I’m feeling in a much better place mentally with my fitness and health and am learning to calm my anxiety-ridden brain that ONE extra day off won’t be detrimental to my progress.  In fact, it could actually improve my progress by preventing an easily preventable injury…Here’s to an injury free 2013-2014 running season 🙂

Leave a Reply

