“Work-cation”, mood boosters, and Spring?

Greetings, long lost blog friends!  It’s been a crazy couple of weeks but I’m happy to say my “year” is starting to wind down…until August, anyway!  I was in Orlando, FL for most of last week for a work conference (NASPA).  As much as my introvert-self hates the required mingling at conferences, I must have a little bit of an extrovert inside of me because I always leave inspired, rejuvenated with ideas, and excited to implement new programs.  The fact that this year’s conference was in sunny Florida sure did help with the “rejuvenation” process 😉  This year’s conference in photos:

Epcot: Disney World for adults!

Epcot: Disney World for adults!

A wall of Werthers in "Germany" at Epcot!

A wall of Werthers in “Germany” at Epcot!

Of course we had to visit Epcot!  Dinner in “France”, dessert in “Italy”, and a walk through the countries of the world…my pups were barkin’ and my tummy was full, but there’s just SOMETHING about Disney World parks that add a bounce to my step!

Caribe Royale Resort in Orlando.  Heaven on Earth!

Caribe Royale Resort in Orlando. Heaven on Earth!

Don't mind my Midwestern skin that hasn't seen the sun in months :(

Don’t mind my Midwestern skin that hasn’t seen the sun in months 😦

I can’t tell you how wonderful it was to just “be” and do nothing.  I didn’t even read a book or magazine.  I listened to my iPod and just laid there.  Amazing.

image

Results of previous photographed activity 😦

Even though I had a horrible sunburn (still peeling & itchy, people!), it’s amazing the wonders a little Vitamin D will do for your mood.  I didn’t realize how badly I needed a vacation that didn’t involve running around with appointments.

image

AMAZING Ghiradelli coffee/chocolate shake.

This deliciousness soothed my soul!  I knew I’d be paying for the dairy consumption.  But you know what?  Worth it.

And finally…to show that I did actually attend the conference:

Introvert

1 of 5 sessions I attended…I promise I did SOME “conferencing”

We left delicious 80-degree weather and just days later I was dealing with this:

Over 12" of snow...*sigh*

Over 12″ of snow…*sigh*

Welcome to Spring in St. Louis…?

And this…

My ever-growing work pile of craziness

My ever-growing work pile of craziness

And…

Massive to-do lists...

Massive to-do lists…

Oh well…Happy March  Madness, friends!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

