Celebration Food, Part III

This post isn’t in chronological order since the dining experience occurred before the previous post…sorry 🙂

My 2nd birthday dinner took place at Gentelin’s on Broadway in Alton.  I’ve been here before (and loved it), but my mom hadn’t, so I thought it’d be a nice place for her to try.  Here’s their menu.

My mom had the Horseradish Encrusted Salmon.  She let me try a bite (obviously!) and it was delicious!  I’m not a fan of horseradish, but by baking it, the tartness of horseradish disappeared and made for a fancy addition to the salmon.

I chose the Porkloin with truffle whipped sweet potatoes, asparagus, and bacon w/stone ground mustard veloutte sauce.  I think the truffle whipped sweet potatoes sold me when I read the menu, and they certainly stood up to their reputation.  YUM-O!  It was a perfect entree, not too heavy, and plenty of leftovers!

My sweetie had the Black Bean Cakes…they were very tasty and had the perfect amount of spice!  I plan to attempt a recreation!

Dessert was a no-brainer.  My mom had the Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee and I had the Raspberry Sorbet (their only dairy-free option).  Naturally I sampled the creme brulee and it was amazing.  It’s so decadent and I love the crunchy, sugary topping. The sorbet reminded me of my childhood.  My mom bought raspberry sorbet every once in a while from the grocery store…it’s not something I had a lot of, but just one of those things that sticks with ya!

I was more than full after this birthday dinner.  Good thing I’ve been workin’ my butt off at the gym.  As much as I love trying new restaurants and splurging on yummy food, I’ll be glad to get back into my diet & routine!

Leave a Reply

