Celebration Food, Part II

Post-birthday weekend ended with my last birthday dinner.  Since my birthday landed on Tuesday (my least favorite day of the week), we celebrated last night with a delicious dinner at Andria’s in Edwardsville.  It has a reputation for delicious food, particularly steaks.  The menu prices are well above our normal “dining out allotment” and, frankly, I felt guilty for spending that much on food, even if it was for my birthday.  BUT, rest assured, the food was worth the price.  We’d never been to Andria’s so we used my birthday as an excuse.  We’re the type of people that can get out of Fazoli’s, Qdoba, Crazy Bowls & Wraps, or Culver’s for less than $5 (with the help of coupons, of course).

We’re not really red meat people (we always gravitate toward chicken) so we decided to split 2 entrees: Filet Mignon w/Kristine Sauce (prosciutto & 3-cheese blend w/Sherry shallot demi-glace & shallot cream sauce) and the Chicken Supreme (pan seared served w/mushrooms in a tarragon & Sherry cream sauce).  If you glance at their menu you’ll notice their sauces have “people names”.  Interesting.  We each had a side of asparagus…you know, to get SOME kind of healthiness into our meal 😉

The food was phenomenal.  I haven’t had steak in nearly 8 years.  It’s not that I don’t like steak or red meat, but I just don’t prefer it.  I’m pretty sure as my half of the steak was digesting, my body was saying, “What is this?! IRON?! YAY!”  Granted, I’ve eaten red meat in the occasional ground beef or burger now and again, but not in the pure form of steak.

We opted out of dessert and headed home and I took a much needed “pre-bedtime” nap.  I guess that’s what happens when you turn 27…you need a nap before you go to bed. HA!

Before dinner, my mom dropped off some cupcakes from The Cup.  I can cross 2 more off my list!

Raspberry Beret

RASPBERRY BERET

(Image source) 

I am a sure thing for raspberry desserts.  This particular cupcake was surely delicious, although I was hoping for a bit more “tang” from the raspberry filling.  Regardless, the french vanilla cake was refreshing against the raspberry buttercream and filling.  So yummy!  I can’t wait for the raspberry cupcake they bring out in May (topped with chocolate ganash).  Heaven.

Strawberries ‘n Cream

STRAWBERRIES 'N' CREAM

(Image source)

This one didn’t make my original list.  I’m not usually a fan of strawberry cakes, pies, or other desserts unless real strawberries are the star of the show, like with strawberry shortcake.  But my mom loves this one and wanted me to try it.  It did not disappoint.  It made up in tangy-ness that the Raspberry Beret missed.  Strawberry cake and strawberry buttercream, topped with and adorable strawberry accent…I hate to describe it as “precious”, but it was!  Very moist, sweet, but tangy.  Perfect with a cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

