Goals, Hopes, Dreams, Wishes, etc.

‘Tis the season for…resolutions.  Ack.  I never make them.  Well, I do a quick reflection on what I’ve “let go” during the craziness of the year and what I need to “get back on the wagon” with.  I never make resolutions to lose weight, be healthier, go to the gym more, or run more.  I’m a firm believer that those are horrible resolutions.  You should make a commitment to be healthy every day, regardless of resolutions.  So you ate a cookie (or two) after lunch that your mean coworker brought in from their weekend holiday party.  Who cares!  Just go lighter on after-dinner snacks.  You missed a workout and hit the snooze button?  Sleep falls under the “health” category!  Seriously, I hate to hear about people completely giving up their favorite foods or killing themselves at the gym in an attempt to be healthy.  I don’t know about y’all, but if I gave up chocolate, my mental health would seriously decline.  Think about it…

In another world, and not on my soap box, I have a few goals I’m shooting for this year.  They are, in no particular order:

  1. Buy a new car.  Mine is 7+ years old, has well over 100,000 miles on it, and sounds SO tired and worn out when I turn her on.  Poor thing…I will be excited for the day when I don’t worry myself sick if I’ll make it to my destination without breaking down.
  2. Re-organize my finances.  I recently started investing for the purpose of retirement, emergency-only funds, and “in case I need a little extra for a vacation I just can’t turn down”.  I used to stick to my monthly budget to the cent!  Every month I’d add in my grocery, gas, and other receipts to see where all my money went and what I need to cut back on.  Last year’s unending craziness caused me to “let that one go”…getting back on it.  I’m pretty tight with my money, so this is just more of a control-freak thing of mine…
  3. Also related to finances…get back to my couponing/sale shopping.  I am not a coupon lady (gosh, those people are so annoying) and, to be honest, I can’t use many coupons because the products I purchase never have coupons.  P&G doesn’t exactly have a coupon for 5 lbs of carrots or 2 bags of spinach 🙂  But occasionally, I’ll be able to match up a good deal on TP, cleaning supplies, or random “treats” that I won’t buy without a coupon (or coupon-sale match-up!).  Do I save THAT much more money?  Probably not, since I usually end up going out of my way/going to the store more often to get the deal.  Oh well…I’m a sucker for the Placebo Effect!
  4. Continue the Great Cupcake Challenge.  Obviously.
  5. RUN!  Ok, I’m cheating on this one.  I’d do this anyway.
  6. Marathon: Currently choosing between 3 (in the fall)…and would appreciate your feedback on ANY of them.  They are listed in the Upcoming Races section.
  7. Read more.  Seriously.  I haven’t read a book since June.  I try, I really do.  I pick up the book and climb into bed.  And the next thing I know, I wake up to turn the lights off and brush my teeth.  I’ve been told I’m a “high functioning” adult…which in mental health “speak” means I don’t know how to relax without falling asleep…or I don’t find time to relax until I’m so exhausted I pass out and begin drooling.  Ok, I don’t drool, but I have been known to pass out mid-sentence (whether I’m telling the story or listening to the story).
  8. Watch more movies.  I’m a sucker for TV.  Really.  My TV shows in my calendar and my colleagues & I bond over TV reviews.  My DVR & I are best friends.  But movies and I don’t get along.  Reference #7.  I get bored.  I fall asleep.  I can’t JUST watch a movie.  My laptop has to be on my lap.  100% attention will NEVER be given to a movie.  I’m a movie narcoleptic – my personal record is 10 minutes into the movie.  Lately I’ve been making it to the last 15-20 minutes of the movie.  Progress.
  9. Avoid the scale.  Yup. I haven’t weighed myself since before November.  And I am loving it.  I was beginning to have an unhealthy relationship with numbers.  Even though I know 1 lb of muscle weighs more than 1 lb of fat.  I kept going back to the thought of “I was my happiest when I weighed 1xx lbs”.  But my body was so different then.  I’m learning to trust myself and trust my body.  I get in 5-6 solid rock-star workouts per week and consider real yogurt (dairy-free!) a treat.  So yeah…I’m pretty sure my scale is not a good evaluation of my health.
  10. Communicate/reach out to friends.  I really let this one slip last year.  I’m giving myself a “get out of jail free” card since I feel I had every right given the circumstances.  But I feel better when I maintain relationships (so long as they are not one-sided).  It helps my life-satisfaction level…even if I do prefer my dog’s company to a majority of the population.
  11. Get strong!  I’ve already noticed an increase in ability during my workouts from a year ago.  I can lift heavier weights (even if it is only 3 more lbs!) and I feel sturdier and more stable.  It’s a good feeling.

What are YOUR goals for the year?  Are any of mine the same as yours?

Leave a Reply

