First World Problems

I took my car in for an oil change today (recommended maintenance was in April, but life happens and September was the next best option). My car is getting to that age where I really shouldn’t miss maintenance appointments, plus nothing major has “stopped working properly” with her (yes, her name is Lucy) yet so I hold my breath and like to keep my fingers crossed.  Since the last few days have been intense and stressful, and the last few weeks have been nonstop, and the last 8 months have been less than ideal, I thought I’d treat myself to a Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks.  The timing was perfect – my first day off in months, I was feeling a little selfish, plus the weather has been screaming “Fall” since Saturday.

Then my first world problem slapped me in the face.  Nearly $650 in maintenance costs for my car (definitely finding a cheaper garage to take care of the easier stuff).  I opted to take care of the top 2 safety concerns/issues to fix now to prevent an even bigger bill later.  A $230 bill meant no Starbucks for moi.  Sad day.  So for now, I’ll just be adding pumpkin spice to my Coffeemate routine every morning until I get my fix 🙂

In other news, life is good in my happy little world of running.  Last Saturday, after being up for 24 hours, driving up to Chicago & back on Friday (5 hours each way), getting only 2 hours of craptastic sleep, and living in immediate nurse-mode after my sweetie’s rotator cuff surgery, I knocked out a 14-miler at a 10 min/mile pace.  It was something we all needed.  I was able to re-charge my batteries and have a few hours to myself and Jeff was able to finally get some sleep and let his pain meds kick in.  It was glorious.  See?  Running cures all.  Even for the people around you 🙂  This sums up last week’s long run:

Leave a Reply

