Not All Calories Are Created Equal.

Yesterday was a true example of this statement.  I’m one of those people that can have the same thing for breakfast, the same thing lunch, and supper for months.  For example, since…well, I can’t remember “when”, I’ve had 1 egg w/feta or parmesan and 2 pieces of whole wheat toast for breakfast every day (week day…not weekends too!).  I might get a little crazy and change up the kind of jelly I put on my toast or switch the eggs from sunny side up (yolk nearly cooked) to scrambled, but that’s the bulk of my  breakfast.  For lunch, it’s been a huge salad (spinach, celery, carrots, broccoli, cucumber, & green peppers) and salmon for lunch.  I switch between almonds & pretzels for a little extra crunch on my salad. And I’ll switch up the “3rd course”, but for the last several weeks has included a sweet potato with a bit of peanut butter (don’t knock it ’til you try it!).

Well, yesterday I decided to switch it up.  I had my typical weekend post-long workout breakfast of steel cut oats, 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 of a banana, cinnamon, and 1 tbs of peanut butter (all mixed up and delicious).  The calorie amount was even more than my normal egg & toast breakfast.  Yet I was STARVING well before my normal mid-morning/pre-lunch hunger point.  The oatmeal concoction on the weekends lasts well into mid-afternoon (with the help of exercise-induced suppressed appetite), but not so much during the week, even after a hard weekday workout.  Peculiar.

Given that eggs are a powerhouse and keep me full for hours, I had my scrambled egg w/feta, spinach, peppers, & yellow squash for lunch to take care of the protein & veggies lunch-requirement followed by my delicious sweet potato/peanut butter for “dessert”.  I was ravenous before dinner.  This never happens.

Granted, I’m willing to admit that maybe I just had a “hungrier than usual” day.  But goodness, even my stomach & metabolism don’t do well with change!

This morning I went back to my beloved egg w/veggies & toast.  At least I can count on it to power through until lunch!  Good grief…

Any thoughts on this?  Do you eat the same thing everyday or do you die from boredom & routine?

Leave a Reply

