Veggies & Cookie Dough

Let’s be honest, that’s really all I ate yesterday.  Well, and a few other “good for me” foods, but all I really remember is the abundance of veggies and cookie dough (the healthy kind…sorta…).

Just to break it down for you, I throw nearly 1/2 – 1 cup of spinach into my post-workout protein shake. Then, I tear up about 1/4 cup of spinach and 1/4 of a green pepper into my scrambled egg for breakfast.  Lunch consisted of my massive salad (1 cup of spinach, 1 celery stalk, 1 carrot, 1/2 of a cucumber, 1 green onion, 1/2 cup of broccoli) and roasted zucchini & patty pan squash that I made up during my lunch hour (how’s THAT for time management?!).  Never heard of patty pan squash?  I hadn’t either…they look so bizarre!

Dinner consisted of more roasted zucchini & squash and baked beef stew with biscuits.

(I always add a bag of frozen veggies to make the beef stew “go farther” and the added veggies never hurt!).  Surprisingly, the not-so-clean Beef Stew & Biscuits gets a “B” on the nutrition front.  Easy and relatively healthy?  I’ll take it.  Nutritional info can be found here.

The Roasted Zucchini Recipe was courtesy of The Food Network’s Robin Miller.  I’d forgotten how much I love her recipes (and her cooking show!).  Plus, this wasn’t a fancy recipe with ingredients I didn’t have.  Here lately I’ve been trying to only use recipes with ingredients in my pantry (unless I’m out of a common item, of course).  I still have an abundance of zucchini, even after this recipe.

I’ve been jonesin’ for cookie dough since last weekend and haven’t gotten my fix yet.  So during my typical evening Pinterest session, I found this amaaaazing and clean cookie dough recipe.  I didn’t have any egg whites (well, I do, but I need those eggs to get me through this week’s breakfasts!) so I subbed 1/4 cup watered down Greek yogurt for the 1/4 cup egg whites.  AHHHH! Delish!  I wasn’t planning on baking the cookie dough and simply have been eating it raw, which is totally acceptable since it is egg free…but don’t worry, I’d eat it raw even if it was made with eggs.  Whatever… 🙂

So there you have it, my day full of veggies and delicious cookie dough.  They proved to be good fuel for my 17-mile bike ride this morning.

In other updates, my follow-up orthopedist appointment post-MRI is tomorrow morning.  So I’ll get the scoop on what the deal is with my leg.  Maybe they’ll offer to saw it off and give me a new leg.  That’d be swell.  I’ve got my fingers crossed for a “Hm, we don’t see any tears or anything else…PT for 4-6 weeks” solution.  That way, my race is still a go!

Leave a Reply

