Long Weekend, Memorial Day Fun

Can I tell you something?  I love summer.  My job in student affairs makes summer feel like it did when I was a kid.  I still have to work in the summer, but since the students are home, the office is quiet and we finally have a chance to use up our vacation time.  To take advantage of the 3-day weekend, I took Friday off, turning it into a 4-day weekend.  And it was glorious.

Friday was my “do nothing day”.  I went to Boot Camp in the morning, ran an easy 2 miles to get my legs ready for the race, then plopped on the couch and didn’t move until my dentist appointment at 1:30.  Lovely.

Saturday was race-day followed by typical Saturday errands and tending to my poor tummy with lots of crackers and couch time.

Sunday?  Oh you know…Sunday Runday and hard core leg workouts.  I ran 7 miles, and walked 1 (I had another side stitch and cramping that slowing down and breathing couldn’t fix).  The side stitch/pain continued into the day…which is how I know it wasn’t really a side stitch but just part of my unhappy gut.  More on this later…

Monday – Memorial Day.  One of my favorite holidays ever.  My mom and I met up with some family to my hometown’s 145th Memorial Day Parade, the oldest Memorial Day Parade in the nation.  Cool, huh? 🙂  I love our traditions surrounding this holiday (our country’s and my family’s)…it gives me cold chills!

Uptown Alton, our parade location

Scout sitting patiently, watching the parade.

Then the bands passed by with their loud drums…my lap was her parade-watching location preference for the rest of the parade.

She looks less than pleased to get a picture with her mommy.

We wrapped up the day with delicious “summer holiday” food:  grilled chicken kabobs, brats, baked beans (sinfully good), potatoes, and ice cream.  MMMHMM!  I do love summer!

Hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!

 

2 thoughts on “Long Weekend, Memorial Day Fun

Leave a Reply

