Cupcake Update & Workouts

Hey there, friends.  So sorry for the lack of posts.  2 1/2 days off last week made me super lazy and I ended up vegging on the couch watching insane amounts of TV and movies.  I have a few movie reviews and TV show reviews to provide…fun 🙂

Remember the Great Cupcake Challenge?  Well, I’m already off to a good start and had the opportunity to try the Mocha Cappuccino and Raspberry Truffle Cupcakes. YUM and YUM!

First up: Mocha Cappuccino

MOCHA CAPPUCCINO

Ask anyone, I’m a sucker for coffee-related anything. Ice cream (especially ice cream), coffee cake, chocolate covered espresso beans, coffee itself.  You name it, I love it.  In fact, I’ve been obsessed (yes, obsessed) with coffee ice cream since I was 10 and sampled Kona Coffee ice cream in Hilo, Hawaii.  I fell in love and have never looked back.  So to have a moist dark chocolate cupcake with coffee-flavored icing? That’s just what my hormones needed.  Fabulous!

Next: Raspberry Truffle

RASPBERRY TRUFFLE

I wasn’t 100% sure if I’d be in love with this one.  I love raspberries, I LOOOOVE chocolate (dark chocolate, really), and I love raspberry cake. So I don’t know why I doubted this one.  But…sorry Mocha Cappuccino, this one was hard to stop eating.  I ate half on the way to visit my mom (who was waiting on my dad’s surgery to end). I had a good 30-minute drive to have the rest of that decadent cupcake staring at me…but I resisted and thought my mom could benefit more from the moist raspberry cake, raspberry filling, and chocolate ganache frosting.  Oh yeah.  It hit the spot.

Workout Rundown

Well, since I’ve had the pleasure of indulging in TWO cupcakes last week, what’s more appropriate than planning out the workouts and training sessions, eh?

Sunday: Typical Sunday Runday and Gospel Workout. This past Sunday I completed a 7-mile run on the bike trails which means my pace was much faster (and more natural) than on the treadmill.  It was a great run (up at 6am to beat the heat) and I ran a comfortable 10:15/mile pace.  Then I drove to the gym where I tanked my legs & glutes.  The weight session was less than stellar but I finished off with a great 30-minute, 1-minute interval bike session that turned my performance around.  Amazing beginning & end.

Monday: Off-day. Wahoo!  How do I deal with my Mondays? A nice treat of sleeping in and “I don’t have to workout today!”.  Of course, I love working out, but the mind and body needs its rest days. As much as I love off-days, I dread them just as much  because my body is ready for all those extra calories I need to consume during moderate-hard workout days.  But I can’t eat them since I’ve done nothing but “exist” all day.  Sad life.  However, I got in a little “cardio” during Bye Week’s sand volleyball game.  I felt like I stood around most of the time and only ran when I had to chase the ball but, whatevs.  Maybe next week 🙂

Tuesday: Circuit Training boot camp (it was a killer today!) followed by a 2.2 mile run at a 9:17 pace with some boot camp buddies.  I was pretty wiped from the conditioning and we were running a little faster than my comfort pace but after the run I felt FANTASTIC and ready to conquer the world. I’ve never run with anyone else before (I love my solitude, plus I’m sloooow) but this may be a great way for me to get out of my comfort zone and speed up my little legs!  We’ve decided to add it to every Tuesday post-circuit training.  Can’t wait!

Wednesday: Speed intervals on the treadmill and a dreaded leg workout. Can you tell Wednesdays are my favorite?  While I feel amazing after the workout, leading up to and during the workout is tiresome and painful.  I’ll reap the benefits later, I know.  But sheesh…my poor quads 😦 I’ll finish up the hard stuff with an easy 20-minute hill interval bike ride for “recoveration”

Thursday: Intervals on the bike for 1 hour followed by an arm workout.  Lately I’ve been loving “arm days” because it means I can sit more during weights and give my legs a rest.  Lazy, much? HA!  “Recoveration” will be a 20-30 minute interval workout on the elliptical. Such a peaceful finisher!

Friday: Traditional Boot Camp. Weights, weights, weights.  It’s a lighter cardio day (which I always need by the time Friday rolls around) but a little heavier on the weights and pushing my muscles’ limits.

Saturday: Normally hot yoga but this Saturday is my 2nd 5K race.  And guess what?!  It’s a flat course! WOOO!  So exciting!

 

 

Leave a Reply

