The Great Cupcake Challenge

Ok, so. Let’s talk cupcakes.  A local “cupcakery”, The Cup, has delicious and gorgeous cupcakes.  I just so happened to sign up for their email alerts letting me know when certain cupcakes are available.  Big mistake. Some cupcakes are only available for a week, others for a whole season (Pumpkin for the Fall, for example).  Recently, an email was sent to me saying the “Mocha Cappuccino” is available for purchase through this week.  While I enjoy desserts and dark chocolate, I’m not one to purchase desserts and treats regularly.  No, instead I become a glutton when they come around and eat 5x the amount a normal adult would…but whatever.  Absence doth make the heart grow fonder, eh?  Hm…PLUS I’m trying to stick to a low sugar lifestyle.  I always eat super healthy, watching my calorie, fat, and sodium intakes, focusing on eating only foods that will provide me with longer lasting energy.  However, these cupcakes and their special “appearances” present a challenge that I think could be a fun one to tackle, healthily and in moderation, of course.  I’ve compiled a list of the cupcakes I want to try or HAVE tried and want again.  So to make it fair, I can’t eat the whole cupcake (unless it’s been a horrible day, or a nice cup of coffee just so happens to present itself immediately following my cupcake purchase).  PLUS, with marathon training looming (July 1, friends!) I see it as a little treat for myself.

So here’s my list (with pictures for your viewing pleasure, of course!):

Peanut Butter Cup (served daily)

PEANUT BUTTER CUP

    Mocha Cappuccino (rotated every 4 weeks with a list of others)

MOCHA CAPPUCCINO

Grasshopper (also rotated every 4 weeks)

GRASSHOPPER

Summer Crush (June 20)

SUMMER CRUSH

Pumpkin Harvest (September 22)

PUMPKIN HARVEST

Caramel Turtle (November 12)

CARAMEL TURTLE

Mayan Mocha (mocha, chocolate, cinnamon)

MAYAN MOCHA

Mint O’Malley (March)

MINTY O'MALLEY

Monster (also mint chocolate chip, October)

MONSTER

Peach Cobbler (September 22)

PEACH COBBLER

Peppermint Stick (December 4)

PEPPERMINT STICK

Raspberry Truffle (all of May)

RASPBERRY TRUFFLE

S’more (September 2)

S'MORE

Spring Fling (lemon cake w/raspberry filling)

SPRING FLING

Triple Key Lime (August 27)

TRIPLE KEY LIME

White Chocolate Pistachio

WHITE CHOCOLATE PISTACHIO

As you can see, I’ve got quite the challenge ahead.  But, in my waistline’s defense my top choices seem to be spread out throughout the year.  I can’t wait! Anyone care to join me in the challenge?  If you have a similar cakery, feel free to share your favorite flavor combinations!  This will be great motivation to log more miles 🙂

Next post: workout recaps.

Leave a Reply

