Sunday Runday, Flowers, & Pizza = All things HAPPY!

Happy rainy Monday, friends.  Could today be any more cliche?  It’s the first day of “Break Week”.  The students are graduated and gone and my favorite on-campus coffee place has closed for the summer.  *Sigh…*

Yesterday’s “Sunday Runday/Gospel Workout” was a good one despite my sore “5K legs”.  I knocked out 5.91 miles (I pretty much run until the treadmill stops me unless I have a specific distance planned).  It was a really great run and did wonders for my 5K recovery.  After a little over an hour on the treadmill, I did my typical Sunday leg workout, minus step-up lunges and 1-leg sit squats.  My quads were pretty sore from the race so I didn’t want to overdo it…just do enough to get the grossness out of my muscles.  Walking lunges, kettlebell squats, Loaded bar squats, dead lifts, incline sit ups, planks & side planks.  I was pooped.  I finished off the morning with a 30-minute interval session on the bike for more running recovery.  I was wiped, but treated myself to a delicious protein shake: 1 cup almond milk, 2/3 tbsp peanut butter powder, 1 scoop vanilla protein powder, 2 tsp dark cocoa powder, 1 banana, ice, and 1/2 cup of spinach.  YUM!  Quite the post-workout treat!

Before making it home, though, I did a quick run-through the grocery store.  I always CRAVE veggies & fruits after a workout and Sunday is my day to stock up: strawberries, cantaloupe, spinach, bananas, and a delicious salad from the salad bar (that always tastes better than any salad I make at home).

Following my typical Sunday couponing, I did a little shopping at Target for clothes I clearly don’t need and then on to Home Depot for some flowers!  Check out my summery “patio”:

Can’t wait until they start filling out!

 

If you look closely, you’ll see Scout watching my every move. Adorable.

I don’t have much of a green thumb, so we’ll see how long these things last 🙂

After all that shopping and planting, I was ravenous for lunch.  On the menu was Crazy Bowls & Wraps Beans & Rice leftovers from Saturday’s supper.

Beans & Rice Bowl w/lime & sesame seeds and my salad (spinach, peppers, carrots, broccoli, olives, cucumbers, boiled eggs, feta, artichoke hearts)

It was delicious!  I wanted to eat a light breakfast & lunch because I knew we were planning on pizza for dinner.  Granted, it was a healthy Greek-inspired pizza, but I wanted to have plenty of options in case I decided to inhale my entire half of the pizza.  I also treated myself to a Fitz’s Diet Cream Soda…it’s the little things, really 🙂

Delicious and made with Splenda!!

For our pizza, I baked Trader Joe’s whole wheat pizza dough on the pizza stone for about 15 minutes to get it good ‘n crispy.  Then I added LOTS of spinach, grilled chicken, 1 green pepper, chopped kalamata olives, green olives & onions on Jeff’s side, and feta.  Oh my goodness, it was so good!  Pizza is like crack to me.  I just can’t and don’t know when to stop eating it.  I could eat mounds of pizza and never feel full…and if I finally do feel full, I just keep shoveling it in my mouth.  It’s addicting!

Here’s an awesome quote to leave you with: “The people who can’t grow with you, can’t go with you.”  AMEN!  This is a big lesson I’ve learned in my life.  I don’t know how many people (friends, boyfriends, etc.) I just can’t keep in my life for several reasons.  And this quote is a great reminder that it’s natural.  It happens. Surround yourself with people that will HELP you GROW, not hold you back.

Leave a Reply

