Chocolate, Coffee, & Running Cure All

GOOD MORNING!  Why am I so chipper, you ask?  I had a stellar run this morning.  My speed work run is usually scheduled for Wednesdays, but puppy and I had a restless night.  When the alarm blared at 4:15am, I got up to put my contacts in, and thought, “Ugh, I just can’t”.  This is also a huge breakthrough for me.  The old me would say “No, Sarah. You HAVE to do it TODAY.”  The new me said “screw it, me needs sleep”.  This morning played out much better and my 5-miler was really strong and faster than last week’s interval speed work.  I averaged SLIGHTLY over 10-minute miles, BUT several of my.20-mile intervals were done at a 7:30-min pace.  My run was quickly followed by a “legs” day with the weights (squats, lunges, bridges, etc.) and a 20-minute interval bike ride for “muscle recovery”.  WHEW!  Awesome workout!

A great post from CNN.com about superfoods:  http://www.cnn.com/2012/04/10/health/superfoods-weight-loss-diet/index.html?on.cnn=1

On the list:

  • Blueberries
  • Salmon
  • Eggs
  • Almonds
  • Green tea
  • Broccoli
  • Quinoa
  • Yogurt
  • Beans
  • Dark Chocolate

Do YOU eat these foods frequently/daily?  I eat everything on the list daily with the exception of green tea, quinoa, and beans.  I frequently eat quinoa and beans, just not everyday.  And dark chocolate?  Um, more like 3 times a day.  I try to eat some dark chocolate with my morning coffee.  If I start my day with dark chocolate, I’ve found I crave sweets MUCH less throughout the day.  Seriously, I go to bed thinking “OOOO I can’t wait for my coffee and dark chocolate in the morning!”.  It’s the little things…

All of the foods on that list DO make me feel great AND they keep me full (big bonus!).

 

Happy Thursday, everyone!  1 day until the weekend!  Although, my upcoming weekends are packed and NOT relaxing, so I’m not exactly that pumped for the weekend.  I need some major down-time and just time to catch up on life (groceries, replacing my left tail light, bridal shower gift-shopping, etc.).  Yay.

Leave a Reply

