Puppy Breakthroughs & Healthy Sweet Peach Cake

Whew!  So sorry I haven’t posted in a while.  I’ve been so wiped out from new mommy-hood!  Waking up every few hours to take out my tiny pup really took it out of me.  To be fair, I wake up several times throughout the night to go to the bathroom (darn bladder), but lately I haven’t been able to fall back asleep in a timely matter after we venture out for a grass squat (her not me…obviously!).  So instead of allotting 8 hours for sleep, I adjusted our schedule to allot for 10 hours of “bed time” in case it takes me a while to fall back asleep.  Regardless of the adjustment, I was SO sleep deprived.

BUT, we had 2 HUGE puppy breakthroughs last night.  As I was getting things ready before bed, I moved Scout’s kennel back in my bedroom.  I went into the bathroom to brush my teeth when I hear her walk into her kennel and lay down ALL BY HERSELF!  I didn’t have to shove her in there and listen to her whine for 10 minutes.  This is huge for crate-training! The other breakthrough left me ecstatic.  I heard her rustling a bit after 2-hours post-bedtime so I get myself up to take her outside.  She hasn’t been whining at night any more to tell me she has to go out (another breakthrough) but when I hear her moving around, I know she needs to go out.  I open her kennel door, and instead of BUSTING out, she just laid there and said “What?  I’m good…”.  I took her out anyway just to be safe (glad I did…).  I guide her back to her kennel where she gladly walks in, lays down, and doesn’t whine.  THEN, I easily fall back asleep, wake up, check my phone and see that it’s 6AM!  WHAT?!  We went 6 whole hours without a potty break?!??!  Holy smokes.  This dog-mom loved a solid 6 hours of sleep.  She didn’t even whine to wake me up.  She waited patiently until I let her out.  Such a good girl 🙂  Fingers crossed that this progress continues!

Ok, enough of my dog-mom-gushing!

I started going back to Conditioning Boot Camp (not just the weight-training on Fridays, but the circuit training conditioning) this week and started my 5k training plan for my May-June 5Ks.  Wednesday is “speed day”, Thursday is biking and a hill-run, and not sure yet about Friday.  Lesson learned from this week: speed work with super sore/tired calves is never a good idea (stupid jumping in boot camp kills my calves and arches every time).

I had a major breakthrough myself on Thursday during my 2-mile hill run.  I hit the 1.75 mark when I decided, “Eh, I’m good…” and I stopped running.  Yes. BEFORE my 2-mile goal.  I’m a little OCD and HATE stopping before a mile-marker.  I had already completed my 4X 1-minute hill repeats and was tired of running.  Why is this so “big”?  It’s really important to NOT run junk miles for the sake of running.  This is an important lesson I learned during my “stress fracture rehab” and my recent half-marathon training.  Junk miles cause you to get hurt.  So instead, I’m running a little below the suggested mileage and supplementing with cross-training (cycling, cross-training, circuit training, hot yoga, and weights) to enhance my performance instead of just logging miles & hours in my running shoes.  And it feels great, mentally & physically.  HOORAY for mental breakthroughs!

After hot yoga today, I made a healthy version of Giada’s Sweet Peach Cake.  How did I make it healthy, you ask?  Splenda, applesauce, and whole wheat flour.  Splenda for sugar (duh), applesauce for oil (yucky stuff), and whole wheat flour for white flour (also yucky).  Each substitution was an equal substitution:  3/4 cup applesauce for 3/4 cup oil, 1 1/2 cups Splenda for 1 1/2 cup sugar, etc.  The whole wheat flour did make it more of a “bread cake” than a “dessert cake” with a crunchy top-layer, but it tastes amazing!  The chopped peaches keep the cake moist & gooey.  Let’s see if my relatives enjoy it…we’ll see.

A few Scout pictures for your viewing pleasure:

A little early-morning play time before hot yoga.

I love how she always ends up touching me some how when she’s playing or lounging.

My co-pilot!

She really isn’t a fan of the camera.  The attitude in her expression shows that…HA! Her personality really is a perfect match to mine.

One thought on “Puppy Breakthroughs & Healthy Sweet Peach Cake

Leave a Reply

