ABCs Part 1

The Alphabet of Yours Truly…

A is for age: 26, going on 36.  Story of my life…I look 10 years younger than my actual age, but my maturity/responsibility level is 10 years older than my actual age.  Remember my first post about being a walking contradiction?  Yeah…

B is for breakfast:  My favorite meal.  I could eat breakfast at every meal.  One of the major downsides of being at work over lunch…my favorite breakfast foods are too difficult to prepare or just aren’t the same “made ahead”.  I have been frequently known to bring oatmeal for lunch though.  YUM!  My breakfast this morning consisted of 2 bites of a Cashew Cookie Larabar (I was STARVING after my first “regular” morning workout since my race…my legs feel semi-normal again), Panera’s steal cut oatmeal w/strawberries & pecans, and half of a multi-grain bagel.  My ideal breakfast consists of a peanut butter/chocolate/banana/protein smoothie, 1 egg, 2 pieces of whole grain toast, AND coffee.  I’m currently in Louisville for a conference and I’m DYING to get back to my food routine, particularly breakfast.

C is for circuit & cross training:  A new focus in my workout routines.  I wanted to wait until after my race to hit circuit training hard.  Super pumped for some intense fat burning sessions.  I’m pretty convinced having a heavier focus on circuit and cross training is what helped me become a MUCH stronger runner in this last race.  I only ran 2 times each week but focused heavily on strength training and equal amounts of circuit & cross training vs. “empty miles”.

D is for dinner (even though I say supper): Tonight I was extra bad and enjoyed a Smashburger “Blue Grass Burger” with Smashfries, but my go-to dinner options revolve around grilled or baked chicken, veggies (preferably NOT the frozen/steamed kind), whole grain pasta/brown rice, beans, or a healthy pizza/pasta dish.  Again, can you tell I’m so ready to be home ad enjoying a normal/healthy meal routine?

E is for favorite type of exercise: Um, duh.  Running.  But since I’ve had to really suppress my running appetite lately, I focus on biking, cross-training, circuit training, weight training, and hot yoga (recent favorite).

F is for irrational (aka rational to me) fear: Snakes.  I really can’t talk about this fear without experiencing a small amount of anxiety, so I won’t.  Tornadoes are also on the list…but a distant 2nd.  Actually, I’m not sure if I fear tornado sirens or tornadoes…

G is for gross food: Shrimp.  OMG. I’ve tried and tried to like this food and I can’t.  No matter how it’s prepared, I hate the taste AND texture.  It “bounces”  back when I bite into it.  No thanks!

H is for hometown: Alton, IL.  I lived in St. Louis for 4 years during college and now live in Edwardsville, IL.  I’ve only lived 30-45 minutes from home and it’s been enough change for me.

I through Z coming soon…I thought it would be wise/considerate to break this post up a bit.

One thought on “ABCs Part 1

  1. Have you heard of New Rules of Weightlifting for Women (or something to that nature)? It is a book. But some of the blogs I read focused on exercise/nutrition, especially those who are runners, have been doing this in addition to their training plans. If you haven’t heard of it, I bet you’d like it! A lot of the runners were saying when they added strength training, their times improved a lot. I find that ludicrous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

