NEEEEED SLEEEEEP and Running Wish List

Mk, I have a LOT to fill you in on.  Well, not really since my life isn’t THAT exciting, but I’ve had over a week of “life” that’s happened.  A “New Orleans Only” post will come soon.  But for now, here’s a run-down on the days since we got back.

In the last day or two I came to the realization that I am permanently and severely sleep deprived.  But we all are, right?  Well, yes, but when I’m nearly falling asleep at a trivia night at 10pm and when knocking out an 8-miler on the treadmill I feel that I could fall asleep at any moment, that’s kind of a problem.

I usually run to the grocery store for just a few things after my long Sunday workout (it’s right next door to my gym).  This past  Sunday was no different and I needed the ingredients for my Greek Quinoa Salad.  I apparently seemed to be wandering around aimlessly and in a fog in the produce section because one of the restock guys asked me if I found what I was looking for.  I didn’t realize I looked like I was having trouble finding something.  HA! So, I decided I need to make sleep more of a priority.  Which is weird to say since it IS a priority for me, but here of late there’s usually something that keeps me awake (usually in the middle of the night) or forces me to wake up crazy early to squeeze everything in for the day.

Coincidentally, I just read an article in Women’s Health last night about more and more women tackling epic to-do lists, leaving us exhausted, run-down, and ragged.  The problem?  This takes a serious toll on health & happiness.  Duh.  Unfortunately, the article didn’t tell me anything I didn’t already know: drink plenty of water, limit phone/internet usage after work, don’t over-train at the gym, take a multi-vitamin to prevent anemia, get 7-9 hours of sleep, meditate, eat for energy.  Blah, blah, blah.  Too bad I already do that (except meditate…by the time I have time in my day to do it I’ve practically collapsed into my bed).

But seriously, currently working on getting more rest and “me time” to recharge my batteries.  This running on “E” crap just isn’t cutting it.  Big props to all of you out there running on fumes and to all of you who have managed to put YOU first for your own health and happiness.  There’s nothing selfish about that at all.

Some randoms for you:

I ate at Chili’s for the first time yesterday.  It was delicious.  We had the Margarita Chicken (only 525 calories and 14g of fat!) and split the roasted corn guacamole w/chips & salsa appetizer.  SO GOOD!  Here’s a review AND free “copy cat” recipe: http://www.squidoo.com/chilismargaritagrilledchickenrecipe.

Before/after dinner we ran to Bed Bath & Beyond and Sports Authority, which was a big mistake because now I have a “running apparel wish list” that’s about three miles long.  Some new things I can’t stop thinking about:

  1. Saucony’s new Crossfire.  In pink.  If any of you know me, you know it’s weird that I want the pink over the blue.  But I love obnoxious pink.  And it’s obnoxious neon pink.  Love 🙂

My feet and these shoes are practically best friends already.

2.  Under Armour’s Classic Run Cap.  In purple.  It fits way better than my Nike running hat.

Purple just makes me happy!

3.  Under Armour’s Fitted/Compression Capris and any of the fitted capri pants they sell.  It’s sad that I “shop” more for my running/comfy wardrobe than my work/socializing wardrobe.  Eh well…priorities 🙂

My legs will thank me later for the compression 🙂

4.  Weighted vest.  Um…what…?  True story.  For workouts.  Working out with more weight will make me speedy fast when I run/workout without it.  Awesome!

Yay for potential new workout clothes 🙂  A girl can dream, right?!

Leave a Reply

