Cauliflower & Conditioning

A few housekeeping items:

Bye Week Volleyball Results: We took home another ‘W’ last night.  Lots of great teamwork and communication…even if the game was at 8:30pm.  And what Bye Week game would be complete without the ball somehow smacking me in the face.  Don’t worry, the face is fine – it just felt a little violated for a few minutes following the incident.  It was pretty intense, I tell ya!

Tuesday Workout:  For the last few months my Tuesday workouts have been with the Conditioning Boot Camp.  My Groupon & added 1-month unlimited deal ran out last week so I had to improvise at the gym today.  Tuesday is too soon to run after my long-run on Sunday (trying to give my foot 3 days in between runs) so I mixed it up on the bike.  I did 1-hr on the “random setting” so it was definitely a “random” workout.  And it was TOUGH.  Most of the programmed intervals lasted about 30-40 seconds with a few 10-20 seconds thrown in there.  I usually had at least 20 seconds of less-intensity intervals too.  One word: SWEATY!  Since today was more of a conditioning day, I didn’t want to do many weight workouts so I would be fully recovered for my harder weight workouts tomorrow and Thursday (must not disrupt the routine!).  After my bike ride I did some core exercises: planks, side planks w/5-lb weight, incline sit ups, cross-body mountain climbers, decline leg lifts (SO HARD!)…whew!  I feel great!  Sometimes you just need plain-ol’-cardio.

Cauliflower Not-So-Mashed-Potatoes Recipe.  I promised this to you yesterday and I never fall back on promises!

  1. Steam 1 head of cauliflower (cut into small florets).
  2. Place steamed cauliflower in food processor and “process” until smooth.
  3. Add 1/4-cup to 1/3-cup non-fat Greek yogurt
  4. Add 1/3-cup Gouda
  5. Add salt & pepper to taste

And voila! Yummy mashed “potatoes” that are all vegetable and no starch!  They were a big hit!  I added a smidge of milk just to get them to my preferred consistency.  Another side note:  I don’t have a steamer (microwave or the stove-top kind) so I microwaved the cauliflower (for 3-5 minutes) in a microwave-safe bowl with 1/4 cup water and covered the bowl (it was a Pyrex bowl w/it’s mate-lid).  Let the cauliflower sit for about 2-3 more minutes for more “steam time”.  Neat trick, eh? 🙂

Tomorrow is a run-day.  I haven’t decided yet if I will target speed or hills…we’ll see how my legs feel tomorrow morning!  At this point I’m thinking SPEED! I must still be on a runner’s high from my Sunday “speedy” run. Fun!

T minus 4 days until I take 20 college students on the Spring Break Service Trip to New Orleans.  Gah.  Stressed is an understatement! 🙂

Tomorrow’s teaser:  Talking about “cheat days”.  Woo!

Leave a Reply

