El Presidente Day

Boot Camp: Today’s Conditioning Boot Camp was AWESOME. Aside from the “Ladder” workout, this one was pretty great and left me sweaty:

We did 50/10 x3.  Each ‘station’ was 50 seconds of work with 10 seconds of rest/transition time.  We went through all 7 stations 3 times.

  1. Cross Body Mountain Climbers
  2. Cone Suicides
  3. Glute Bridge  March
  4. Sumo Jacks
  5. Slide Plank (with band)
  6. Zig Zag Hurdles
  7. Med Ball Slams/Chest Passes

My favorite station was the “Cone Suicides”.  Why?  HELLOOOOO! I finally got to RUN in boot camp!  I just felt “at home” during my sprints.

Now I need to talk to the “owner” about offering some monthly deals.  The place that holds the boot camps was offering a 48-hour deal 1 month ago that was $1350 for unlimited boot camp/conditioning for 1 year (savings of $1158).  I don’t know about any of you, but I can’t exactly let go of $1350 in one lump sum.  PLUS, a whole year is a big deal.  What if I get hurt and have to limit my workouts? What if I start marathon training and can only make it 4 times per month instead of 8? Ugh! Tough decisions.  Obviously I ended up NOT purchasing the year unlimited.  I have another Groupon for a different Boot Camp gym nearby…maybe they have monthly payment plans…

Volleyball:  Bye Week took home another win last night.  We really didn’t deserve it – we didn’t play THAT well, but a win’s a win.  The great thing about last night’s game was the time: 6:15!  We were done by 7pm and hit up Fazoli’s President’s Day Penny Pasta deal: Buy 1 medium drink, purchase any penne pasta with marinara or meat sauce for 1 cent!  AWESOME, cheap, and delicious!

Crock Pot Adventures: Since I can leave work at 4:30pm like a normal person for the first time in weeks, we are having the Cream Cheese Chili that I made a few weeks ago.  I’m super pumped!  Also in Crock Pot Land, I made chicken fajitas (teehee) last night.  It was a super simple recipe from Skinny Crock Pot:

  • 2 large chicken breasts (frozen)
  • 1 medium onion (sliced or chopped…your preference)
  • 3 bell peppers (1 of each color) – I used 4 bell peppers since mine were a wee bit small.
  • 1 large garlic clove, chopped
  • I added a bit of seasoning: cumin, chili powder, & pepper
  • I also added half a can of fat free, low sodium chicken broth to give everything enough moisture…I have this irrational fear of my food burning in the crockpot 😦

Cook on low for 6 hours.  Hopefully it’s yummy!

I wish I had more things to talk about, but I haven’t even been watching/reading the news OR watching my regularly scheduled TV shows.  Sad life?  YES!  I need to get back into my routines to make my brain happy again!  But honestly, it’s been nice to be oblivious to all the political happenings…that stuff just makes my blood boil!

 

 

Leave a Reply

