Humpty Hump.

Whew! What a crazy hump day!  It started at 3:30am when my alarm went off for my scheduled Wednesday workout.  Yes, you read that right. 3:30am…1 hour earlier than normal.  Yes, I’m aware how insane that sounds…or how insane it actually is.  Until August 2011 I was getting up at 3:30am nearly every day to squeeze in a workout.  For some reason to me it doesn’t seem that crazy any more – especially when there are at least a handful of 3:30am crazies at the gym when I get there…another handful shortly follow.  Why did I have to get up when it’s still “nighttime”? I wanted to make sure I was at work before 8am since I had an event starting at 8am and ending at 2pm and another starting at 10am and also ending at 2pm.  Let’s all say it together: d-r-a-i-n-e-d.  I’m considering my work day officially over.  Hope that’s ok with you.  In case you were wondering, both programs were a great success and only one major issue with the early event (go figure).

I realize how annoying that makes me sound:  “I HAD to be at work before 8am”.  BOO HOO!  I normally stroll in around 9am or 10am which is the norm around here since student affairs folks can never find time to take a traditional 30 minute-1 hour lunch and we often work late and work weekends.  So it’s really just docked comp time. Not a bad gig really…

Speaking of student affairs awesomeness…this is hilarious: Sh*t Student Affairs Professionals Say.  Love it!  Sad, but true.

Of a somewhat related nature, here’s the Monday Motivation Quote from Training Daily:

I’ve always taken the philosophy that you have to dream a little in this sport. If you stay in your comfort zone, you’re not going to do anything special.” 

Yes, yes, and yes.  Even if I only run .2 mph faster than my normal slow speed, I’ve still lived a little on the wild side to get me to my “running fast” goal.  Such is true in life, professionally & socially.  You’ve gotta dream for something bigger or you’re just going to plateau.  No one likes a steady plateau.  There’s your Monday Motivation…2 days late.  Whatevs.

Awkwards: During yesterday’s Merchant Fair in the University Center, one of the secretaries was craving a pretzel dog from Auntie Anne’s (we happen to have one on campus…right next to our office…torture).  As she was walking back into the office, one of our GAs yelled to her from across the lounge: “Did you get your weiner yet?!”.  Errrr……wwwhaaaattt?!?

Also of awkwardness/awesomeness: Tony the Tiger visited campus today.  I just happened to look up from my computer and I see a tiger shuffling past my office.  He really had no purpose in his trip past our offices…just a leisurely stroll.  Nothing really phases me anymore…not sure if that’s a good or bad thing.

Happy Hump Day to all – 2 more days!

 

 

Leave a Reply

