Long Time No Blog…

Ok, I’m seriously behind on this “thang” here.  The last week has been insane, emotionally draining, and quite frankly I’m glad I didn’t record every day.  I don’t want to have it in writing to look back and read it.  Kind of a weird “denial = happiness” thing for me, but whatever…to each his/her own, eh?

Soooo since I have a lot to catch you up on, I will put it in multiple posts simply because I wouldn’t want to read a crazy long post either.  At least, the “highly sensitive” person in my would see the long post and say “uh, too overwhelming…can’t…concentrate…”  So for all of you out there like me, you are very welcome.

I  did have a draft saved with a great quote and here it is:

Running is just you, the work you put in, and the clock. You can’t cheat yourself. If you don’t put in the miles, you can’t go to the starting line thinking you’re going to pull a miracle out of nowhere. You get out exactly as much as you put in.

Seriously.  Word to your mother on this one.  I love how running lessons can easily correlate with life lessons.  If you put your whole self into anything you do, it’s really a win-win situation.  That’s what I love about running.  I have no one to blame but myself if I’m not prepared.  I can only blame my choices with food, sleep, exercise, rest, etc. on my level of readiness.  I try to hold this outlook in life too.  Fortunately, I can thank my parents for setting the example of developing an internal locus of control in me instead of an external locus of control.  Even as a kid, if I came home from school complaining about something, they were very reluctant to let me play the “pointing the finger” game.  Didn’t do well on a test?  Maybe you just didn’t listen to the teacher well one day.  Someone said something mean to you?  Maybe you were rude to them first.  Granted, sometimes as we get older and deal with more people in many different constructs of life you just have to have a better balance of internal vs. external locus of control or you will live with unending guilt.  In other words, sometimes telling someone (in your head, never to their face of course), to go to H-E-Double-hockey-sticks is necessary for your own mental health.  But still…be your own manager of your own life.  No one else will do it for you.  No one else should HAVE to anyway… 🙂  Stepping down from my soap box now…

But in other news…I have FINALLY plowed into the last book of the Hunger Games trilogy, Mockingjay.  1: LOVING it so far – can’t put it down.  2: I’m reading it on Jeff’s Kobo – loving that too.  One of the greatest things about it?  It saves my page so when I fall asleep mid-page, it serves as my own bookmark.  Woo!

We had crazy storms blow through here last night at 2:30am and 4:30am.  The first storm woke me up because the golf ball-sized hail was slamming into my window and I truly thought the window was going to shatter.  It was super smart of me to walk up to the window and peek out to see how it looked outside.  Per usual, the GlenEd area seemed to get slammed with the first storm.  The funniest part of last night is the fact that my first thought when hearing the hail was “Holy Hail, Batman!”…yes, at 2:30 in the morning.  The 2nd storm didn’t really wake me up…at least I don’t think it did.  I received an e-lert text message from my last place of employment letting me know the tornado warning had expired (which was not in effect for my county).  Oh boy, thank you for letting me know and thank you for failing to remove me from your e-lert list.  I have this strange recollection of a tornado siren blaring around the time the 2nd storm came through though… if any of you know me you will acknowledge that I must have been really out of it if I truly did hear a tornado siren and went back to sleep.  Tornado sirens make my tummy hurt 😦

So there you have it.  Snow on January 12, tornadoes on January 17th.  St. Louis sure is neat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

