Birthday Round-Up

I think some of the most celebrated moments in human achievement should be those times when everything is going against a person and they are down in the dumps but they simply choose to get up. That’s real greatness.

This sums up my last week or so (not to keep dragging it out or anything).  But there were so many mornings when I really just didn’t want to get out of bed because of the health situation my family was facing…I really had to push myself to get out of bed for my workouts and NOT pull the covers over my head.  So a big applause to everyone that simply got up today or just kept “swimming”.  Sometimes it’s not easy.

So yeah…I had a birthday this past Sunday…I know, I know, I have my own 3-day weekend.  Can’t say I don’t love that!  How was my birthday, you ask?  Eh.  My mom and I both agreed we’d had the wind knocked out of our sails so we really didn’t feel like doing anything extraordinary.  And by extraordinary I mean simply going out for lunch on my birthday.  Given my Dad’s health I was having kind of a weepy day – even his signature (or lack thereof) on my card made me cry.

Now granted, I’m SO not the type of person that makes a big deal out of my birthday.  Everyone has them and I’m not 5.  I really hate it when people say “It’s my birthday week, YAY” or “It’s my birthday month” and my favorite, “X days until my birthday!”.  Really…?  Let’s grow up, mmmkay?  I even feel kinda guilty when someone says “What would you like to do for your birthday?”.  Maybe I need to live it up a little more, or just find a better balance between humility and selfishness.

But, it was a pretty good day.  I had a crazy good/hard/long workout with a 9-mile run (WOOO!), 30-minute bike ride, and leg-weight shtuff.  Instead of my usual egg/toast breakfast, I treated myself to 6 small whole-wheat pancakes.  I had 2 with sugar free raspberry syrup, 2 with peanut butter, bananas, & sugar free honey, 1 with just peanut butter & honey, and 1 with chocolate chips and peanut butter.  I know…I got c-r-a-z-y.  Since my Sunday breakfasts are closer to lunch than breakfast with my runs getting longer, I skipped my 2nd meal to save room for Peel for my birthday dinner.  We split the Chicken Gorgonzola and Spaghetti Squash pizzas. OMG.  SO good!  The creaminess of the Gorgonzola made it my favorite of the two but the spaghetti squash was great too.  I even had a big glass of Moose Drool.  I neverrrr drink beer but this one was YUM.

Also, my friends and family are pretty great.  Between the texts, emails, phone calls, and facebook messages, I feel pretty darn loved.  It really boosted my spirits 🙂

Do I feel older?  Nope.  But it threw me off when I entered “26” on the treadmill when it asked for my age…I guess it’s official.

Leave a Reply

