Gah…

Today’s Monday Runner’s World Training Daily Blog quote…I couldn’t have said it better:

When you run in the morning, you gain time in a sense. It’s like stretching 24 hours into 25. You may need to sleep less and get up earlier, but if you can get by that, running early seems to expand the day.

–Fred Lebow, founder of the New York City Marathon

So true…so you only get 6 hours of sleep (7 hours if the sleep gods are feeling nice…), but you feel great afterward and you’re off to a GREAT start to the day.  Even if sleepiness does set in after you’ve had your coffee…Hmm…

So this weekend was action packed.  It was the kind of weekend that made me feel like I hadn’t been at work for a good week.  Usually the opposite occurs and I feel like I got cheated out of a weekend.  Saturday started out with a hot yoga session that really kicked my butt.  I think my body is finally adjusting back to the yoga poses and I’m starting to “go deeper into the poses” (direct quote from yoga instructor as he tells us to basically quit sucking).  I’m also blaming yoga for my back & kidney pain yesterday.  Kidney pain?!  Yup.  Kidney pain.  This happened to me in college after a few yoga classes.  From what I’ve read, the muscles used during yoga (particularly your back muscles) can cause your floating ribs to “sit” a different way for a brief time after a yoga session, pressing into your kidneys.  Interesting.  That or it’s a kidney infection.  The kidney aches have subsided so I’m lead to believe that yoga kicked my kidneys’ butt.  Funny physiological humor there 🙂

Yoga was followed by a speed demon type of shower/breakfast combo so I could make it to my pedicure.  And yes, I went with a deep plum for my color.  It’s just the wintery thing to do.  So far, every toe nail is still 100% covered.  No chips just yet.  I should start a “ruined pedicure” p0ol.  I could be rich.

That night we played in a not-so-Christmas-themed trivia night.  The only thing Christmas-themed was the title of each “round”.  Dumb.  Also dumb is that the trivia hosts were AWFUL at questions/answers.  We technically won, but they were horrible with questions that we were smart enough to know the CORRECT answer, but they decided to rely on wiki-answers for the answers.  SO, we lost with the final tie-breaker, which wouldn’t have been necessary if the judges weren’t idiots.  This is the 2nd year that’s happened at that exact trivia night.  WTF.  Now we will carry on for another year with that bitterness.

Sunday was a ridonkulous workout day.  The arch of my right foot is a little sore (from boot camp maybe?) but I knocked out a 5-mile run, 30-minute interval bike ride, a quad-nuking weight session, and a 15-minute interval stair stepper session.  Exhausting. So exhausting that I needed to use today as my rest day (not even a TRX workout this morning…I know…CRAZY!).  Sunday afternoon consisted of the most dramatic and dysfunctional family function I’ve ever been to in my life.  WOW.  I can’t even post what happened because it was just so absurd, and frankly, I’m embarrassed at how ridiculous some of my family members can be.  I’m sure we ALL have dysfunctional families, but I’d rather not air my dirty laundry if that’s ok with everybody.  HA!

On the bright side, it’s a short work week.  Only 4 days until 11 whole days off.  EEEEK!!!!  Is it bad that I’m getting a little sad to think that I’ll be taking my Christmas tree & decorations down in about a week?  Ugh.

Awkward Moment(s): My Grandma has this TERRIFYING doll that comes up to my waist.  She LOVES this thing and always dresses it in my dresses from when I was a little girl.  I know…it’s creepy.  So yesterday at Christmas, she had just changed her dress into a red Christmasy dress you’d see on little ones at Christmas Eve Mass.  “What do you think of my doll, Sarah?  I put a new dress on her!”…Yay, Grandma…I love it…

Also at the Family Christmas, my cousin’s wife (both are 21 or 22) awkwardly asked me, “So how old are YOU now?” as if I’m a 10 year old that’s just growing like a weed!  I wanted to tell her that “Well I’m older than you. I’m an adult.  My age doesn’t matter”  But I didn’t.  Darn those missed opportunities.

Leave a Reply

