Sign Here

I failed to hit the gym this morning, although I have an excellent and “fit” excuse.  I woke up around 2:30am and couldn’t fall back asleep.  Lately I’ve been doing really well with falling back asleep when I wake up, but last night was not one of those nights.  I know I was awake until just a few minutes before my alarm went off at 4:40am.  I hit snooze (sometimes once my brain gets working and I talk myself into waking up, I can get up easily).  Not this morning.  Because I was so tired (and I noticed during my 2-hour insomnia session that my throat was a little sore, I decided to sleep in until 6:30 and do an arms TRX workout instead.  I’ve been working out pretty hard lately so this adjustment was actually a blessing in disguise.  I don’t want to run myself down, even though I feel physically great (fitness-speaking).  I was still sleepy, tired, and sore in places I didn’t focus on yesterday, so my body just needed a little more rest.  Plus, I’m cashing in on my Boot Camp Groupon tomorrow morning and I don’t want to look like a weakling from over-doing it at the gym the 2 days previous.  So there you have it.  That’s what my brain goes through on a daily basis.

Speaking of this scenario, the entry for today’s Runner’s World Training Daily “blog” fits perfectly with my morning:

Any idiot can train himself into the ground; the trick is working in training to get gradually stronger.”

–Keith Brantly, 1996 marathon Olympian

 

Remember in my last post how I mentioned I FINALLY got my refurbished external hard drive?  Well, the company required UPS to get a signature before handing over my refurb hard drive.  I get it.  It’s an expensive product, under warranty, blah blah blah.  I noticed the “We Missed You” post-it that UPS leaves on your doors/windows to let everyone know that you aren’t home and are expecting a fancy/expensive package.  “HEY, COME ROB ME!!!”.  The 2nd time UPS tried to drop off the package, they checked that they would try for the 3rd time between 2pm and 5pm.  Uh, super duper UPS.  You know how you’re doing your job by delivering my package…well, I’m at work too.  WEIRD!  And, I’m not going to take off work from 2pm-5pm just so that I’m home in case you ACTUALLY come between that time to drop off the dang box.  So finally, UPS called me saying they would hold it at their hub for a few weeks until I came to get it.  The UPS folks were very nice and understanding of the whole “people are at work when we deliver, we know it’s hard to obtain a signature.”  I knew my parents were going to be out & about the next day so I had to ask them to go to UPS’s hub (it’s just in the next town over for them), sign for my package, and deliver it.  Gosh…

I have the most hodge-podge lunch/snacks today:  plain Greek yogurt, raspberries, blueberries, 1 banana, almond-butter granola, 1 prune, 1 carrot, a few pieces of romaine lettuce, and 1 sweet potato.  Um… hello, fiber!  I also plan to hit up my peanut butter & mini marshmallow stash in my desk (courtesy of my awesome secret santa).

Happy Monday…after today I will be 1/9 of the way through my 9 work days until vacation 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

