What a poo-hole.

I’m especially chipper today.  Can’t explain why, but yesterday I was so sleepy and had a “don’t give a darn” attitude, that it must just be the universe re-centering itself.  Thursday means it’s “arms day” at the gym.  Since my foot has been a little achy (boo…) I’ve been on the bike all week.  45 minutes of hard intervals.  My legs were a little tanked after yesterday’s leg workout so I toned my “RPM” goal down a notch.  I usually try to stay above 100 RPM even on the hard inclines, but I might have let that slip down a few RPMs this morning.  I followed the bike with my weight session (half of my arm exercises involve my own body weight though…), weighted incline sit-ups, 100 kettle bell swings (20 lbs…I think), and more ab stuff, followed by 20 minutes of intervals on the stair climber.  I added 5 minutes (up from 15 minutes) and WOW! It’s amazing what just 5 extra minutes will do.  I was pooped!

Naturally I was starving this morning so I scarfed down half of a grapefruit before my shower.  Was still starving, so I dried & straightened my hair in lightning speed so I could eat half a serving of Chobani vanilla Greek yogurt (NOT my favorite brand btw) with some blueberries, raspberries, ground flaxseeds, and homemade granola.  And that was just to hold me over until my egg & 2 pieces of toast breakfast.

This is a great time of year in higher ed.  The semester is winding down, the holidays are drawing near, and there are holiday parties almost every day.  On a scale of 1-10 (1 being NOT productive, 10 being EXTRA productive), yesterday got a rating of ‘1’.  Tomorrow probably will too.  It’s a much-deserved break for our office full of staff members and GAs that work such odd hours.  All it takes is free food, cookies, and sitting around chit-chatting to boost our spirit! 🙂

No, I’m not even going to talk about Pujols signing with the Angels.  He’s no longer a Cardinal in my book.  So long, Albert.  Don’t let the door hit your “poo-hole” on the way out.

Back to life as we know it…

Awkward Yesterday Moment:  Back to the conference call…My grad school advisor/mentor/professor/colleague/friend sits on the same committee holding the conference call.  We hadn’t spoken (not including email) in a while since our schedules are a little ridonkulous.  During the conference call, she emails me saying “So good to hear your voice!  Do you have a cold?  Lack of sleep?”.  Hmmm…Nope.  Neither.   Guess I sounded awful?  To keep things from intensifying on the awkward front, I just said “yes, I do need to catch up on some sleep.”  Which isn’t technically a lie, but I’m not particularly suffering from lack of sleep.  Meh.  Another reason to hate conference calls.

Leave a Reply

