APA Consultant

I don’t think I was meant to have “down time”.  I truly think I have some sort of energy radiating from my body that attracts people to give me stuff to do when my calendar suddenly clears.  Remember how I’m FREE on Saturdays (AKA no work) until January 13th.  Well my grad school mentor/advisor emailed me yesterday to see if I knew anyone interested in editing some EdD and PhD projects for CASH.  Uh…editing AND cash?  Sign me up friends.  I don’t think people understand just how much of a stickler I am when reading/editing.  I carry a red pen in my purse at all times for crying out loud.  You know, just in case!  So yes, I am excited to edit for an hourly wage, but I am not necessarily excited to read several  100+ page projects over my next few weekends.  On the other hand, I do love higher learning opportunities and, aside from the time commitment and the toll on my brain, I would stay in grad school forever.  So getting the chance to read these EdDs and PhDs will fuel my brain.

Did I mention I ran 11 miles last week!?  Well, I did!  If I make it through my 4-miler tomorrow without needing to stop (I’ll only stop because of foot pain), I’ll hit another 11 miles this week too!  EEEK!  It’s so nice to finally see progress.  I’m even starting to THINK like a runner again!  Scoping out my next few races, people coming to me for running advice, etc.  It sure feels good again!

I only ran 2 miles today.  I only did cardio today (2-mile run, 40 min. bike intervals, 20 min. on the elliptical). My body just felt tight and sore.  Plus, the thought of even picking up dumbbells to do 150 squats nearly brought me to tears.  Since I’ll be out of town Wednesday-Saturday I won’t have the opportunity to do any cardio.  I know shopping and napping can burn a lot of calories, but it’s just not the same.  SOOOOO I’ve had to squeeze my four workouts in on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, & Wednesday.  This is a total no-no in my book.  Pre- and post-injury.  I only work out 2 days in a row before taking an “off day”.  Granted, the off-day could include yoga, volleyball, or TRX.  Just no treadmill/elliptical/bike/weight lifting to allow my muscles, joints, and BRAIN to rest and heal.  I’m absolutely dreading my leg workout tomorrow (meh…).

Gotta run!  I’m off to a few meetings…hopefully I’ll be out by 6:30!  Oh student affairs…you always make my schedule suck so much! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

