Broken Cardinal Rule

“In running it is man against himself, the cruelest of opponents. The other runners are not the real enemies. His adversary lies within him, in his ability with brain and heart to master himself and his emotions.”

–Glenn Cunningham, American runner in the 1930s

That quote couldn’t be more true.  I don’t know how many times I’ve had to tell my mind and body to shut up and keep going during a hard run.  Or when I’m working out and have only 5 more minutes on the bike/elliptical and I just want to call it quits  since “what’s 5 more minutes going to do?”.  But then I think to myself, “What if I’m only 5-10 minutes away from the finish line?  Would I quit then?  NO!  Keep going! It will make those last 5-10 minutes that much easier when I need to dig deep.”  So that’s just ONE of the many things going through my mind during a workout.  Exciting, I know.

I broke a major rule in the workout world today.  I didn’t eat anything before my workout.  Not even a bite of fruit.  I woke up feeling full & bloated even though I got about 6-7 hours of sleep.  I grabbed my Clifbar to-go just in case I felt woozy once I got on the machines.  I did drink about my entire day’s-worth of water between my workout and my morning coffee.  Not sure why I was so thirsty but not hungry like I usually am.  Oh well.  I still didn’t eat that much for breakfast and I dumped half of my coffee (blasphemy!).  I had 2 pieces of whole grain toast, 1 prune, and a few nibbles of peanut butter granola.  Realizing I hadn’t had any protein and might regret eating so little for breakfast, I cooked up an egg.  I knew I had a long meeting in the morning and sitting through a meeting when you’re pass-out-hungry is unbearable.  Been there, done that, don’t want to do it again…unless it’s on accident.

I’m still not that hungry, and it’s pushing lunch time.  Odd.  Maybe it’s just the universe evening everything out from the days when I can’t seem to stop eating.  Who knows.

Better cut this post short.  I have a massive to-do list (with lots of deadlines) staring me in the face.  Hooray!

Leave a Reply

