Oh, feet.

Great morning workout this morning.  I increased the “level” on the stationary bike by 1 and, boy, could I tell a difference.  On top of that, I only did 30 minutes vs. 40 or 45 minutes.  My legs were tanked.  Not a good way to start a “leg workout day” when I still had tons of squats and lunges to do.  But I prevailed.  My legs were jello by the time I hit the treadmill for a 1-mile run.  Can’t say I’ve ever had my legs feel like jello while running.  I’ve definitely had “lead legs”, but never jello legs.  1st time for everything, eh?

I had a successful podiatrist appointment yesterday.  My foot had started to feel achy again so I made an appointment just to make sure I didn’t “re-fracture” or prevent it from even healing in the first place.  I tend to get impatient and overzealous in my workouts.  Shocking, I know.  But, according to the x-ray,  it’s HEALED (WOOO!).  It’s  just a little bit crabby with me.  So we set a new goal of being 100% by March (the 1-year mark) and pain-free by December.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  Spring time will consist of some 5K and 10K races.  New marathon goal: St. Louis Rock & Roll Marathon in October.  *sigh*…there goes ANOTHER Illinois Marathon in magical Champaign-Urbana.  Oh well.  There’s always next, next year.

Evidence of a 3rd metatarsal stress fracture. This isn't my foot. Mine didn't show up on the x-ray in March, but surely would have shown up now if it were still fractured. Yay 🙂

Ok, ok.  Enough obsessing over my feet.

Awkward Moment:  While waiting in the podiatrist’s office, an elderly man was taking a little catnap AND snoring while waiting for his wife to get her orthopedics.  Not going to lie, I was jealous for several reasons:

  1. I really could have used a nap yesterday around my appointment time (3pm = prime napping)
  2. His age made his nap in public completely acceptable and humorous.
  3. His ability to nap just about anywhere, and in any position, is impressive.

Ok, so this wasn’t exactly AWKWARD.  But I had to share.

My next awkward moment came about when I realized how dirty and smelly my feet were from my work shoes and tennis shoes.  I swapped my cheap Target flats for my retired running shoes so I wouldn’t get yelled at for wearing bad shoes.  I really do need to invest in some cute Naturalizers.  There goes $70.  Anyway, I was tempted to wash them with some of the smell-good soap they had on the sink in my exam room.  But wouldn’t it be MORE awkward to have my feet smell of fresh Strawberry Kiwi hand soap than naturally smelly feet?  Instead, I simply wiped away the gunk from the bottom of my feet and in-between my toes.  Sexy, no?

Leave a Reply

