Bye Week Win, Cardinals Loss

Bye Week successfully dominated our opponents last night.  We beat them in two but tried to skip the Courtesy 3rd Game so we could all get home for the World Series.  Apparently shouting “WORLD SERIES!” and “FORFEIT!” meant nothing to the refs, our captain, or the other team.  Some Cards fans THEY are.  Sheesh.

I’m going back to my passive baseball-watching.  They did fine when I popped in my ear plugs and watched Mad Men on Netflix.  Once I start watching, they lose and my blood pressure sky-rockets.  Time to change the strategy, I’d say.

Sunday night & last night before bed I made a batch of Nutella Granola.  It’s pretty simple & keeps me full FOR-E-VERR:

  • 2 1/2 tbsp Nutella
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup chocolate cups (if desired)

Combine honey & Nutella, microwave for about 25 seconds.  Stir in oats.  Bake for 20 minutes, flip granola half-way through so it doesn’t burn (like my 2nd batch did…).  Honestly, the toughest part is trying to get the Nutella from the measuring spoon neatly into the bowl.  Not easy.

Nutella Granola

It was delicious and it makes a great after-lunch dessert instead of reaching for that mini-sized candy bar.  Aside from the ingredients in the Nutella (which is pretty basic in itself), I love that it has minimal ingredients.  Have you ever tried to pronounce some of the ingredients they put in granola and other protein bars?  Aside from the other diet restrictions I’ve placed on myself for health & fitness reasons, I try to buy foods that have a minimal amount of ingredients (and pronounce-able ingredients, mind you).

A little of the granola goes a long way.  It is pretty high in sugar but the fiber in the oats makes it worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

