Weekend Round Up

This weekend was busy, but successful.  Far from boring.

On Saturday, I ran into work in my PJs at 7am to unlock a storage closet for a group of students volunteering that morning.  What fun.  Then I went with my mom & her friend to a craft fair at Triad.  It was there I discovered that Pinterest is ruining me.  Instead of thinking “WOW! I need to buy that!” I said “Psh…I could make that.  Easy-peasy.”  So nothing was purchased.  My bank account is thankful, although I had the urge this weekend to indulge in some retail therapy.  I even came up empty-handed at Kohl’s on Friday night.  Which isn’t all that surprising since I never find anything (personal or home-related) at Kohl’s that I want.

Saturday was wrapped up with a baseball game worth watching and omelets for dinner:

After much anxiety, a perfect flip on the 2nd try!Delicious! AND healthy.

Delicious!

Omelets included: 1 egg, 2 egg-beater eggs, black forest ham, mozzarella, onions, green peppers, & spinach.  It was so tasty and filling!  The first omelet wasn’t AS successful as mine, but I blame the temperature of the pan and my anxiety of perfection.  I couldn’t have done it without Teflon.  Apparently the FDA is banning Teflon by the year 2013 or something…I’ll have to re-teach myself how to cook without it.  Unfortunate.

Sunday was spent with a super early morning workout so we could head to the Rock & Roll Marathon in St. Louis to cheer on some friends.  Not a good day for me emotionally since my foot pain is back (grumble, grumble) and I desperately wanted to be out there.  This race was actually supposed to be my “come-back” race after my stress fracture.  The darn thing was supposed to be healed by June so I could start training.  Wah-wah.  The rest of the day was spent on the couch with nearly 7 episodes of Mad Men.  Yikes!  This was my view for part of the afternoon:

He was people-watching the neighbors across the lake and watching the leaves blow by. So adorable.

Last night’s dinner consisted of “pizza pasta”, a cheaper & healthier take on Fazoli’s Pizza Baked Pasta.  Whole wheat pasta, sauteed onions, garlic, peppers, and spinach, topped/mixed with sauce, cheese, and pepperoni.  Next time, we’ll add black olives.  We also were inspired to make similar pasta bake dishes: Greek pasta and Mexican pasta.  So easy, healthy, and yummy!

On my way home last night I was lucky enough to hit a dead skunk.  Now there are 2 cars driving around Edwardsville that have been skunkified.  My options were:  1) Swerve into on-coming traffic to avoid dead skunk; 2) Swerve into car driving next to me to avoid dead skunk; or 3) Hold on tight and hit dead skunk.  Ugh.  It only took a few minutes before my car reeked of “skunk juice” and my car has been shamed to parking outside until it goes away.  Fortunately, the smell isn’t too bad on the inside.  I just feel bad for anyone that has to park along the right-side of my car.  Stupid skunk population in Edwardsville.

Awkward Moment:  I went home one night last week for my neighbor’s visitation.  I lived in my “childhood home” until the day I moved into my own place at 24 (except for those 4 years in college, of course), and this neighbor had lived in his house even longer.  This neighbor and his wife watched me grow up and always sent me a card for my birthday, Easter, Halloween, etc.  Very sweet.   My neighbor’s wife hadn’t seen me in a while so she greeted me with a hug and the traditional “How are you?!”…My response: “I’m good…!”  The hesitation came when my mind thought “Do NOT ask “How are you?” in return!!!  What’s she going to say?! ‘Great, considering the circumstances’?”  Ugh…so it was an awkward moment of conversation that ended abruptly.  Funerals and visitations are just. so. awkward.

Leave a comment